What is a short sale?

When you have to sell your home for less than the balance of your mortgage, this is considered a “short” sale.

If you have experienced a financial hardship and you will not be able to continue making your mortgage payments, you should call me about pursuing a short sale instead of going late on your mortgage payments and allowing a foreclosure to happen!

Here is a list of some of the situations a bank will consider a hardship:   Hardship Examples.

I am not of the school of thought that you must go late on your payments.  Everyone knows that your credit score is decreased severely if you have a short sale or foreclosure on your record.  What you may not have been told is that a good portion of that decrease is because you have gone 30, 60, 90, etc. days late in your payments!  You will still have a credit score reduction for your debt being settled for less than what you owe – as is the case with any debt you settle on, medical bills, etc.  But!  It is not nearly the black mark as when coupled with late payments – or a foreclosure.  And the length of time you will have to wait to be eligible for another mortgage is considerably less.  A short sale can be approved if we can show impending failure.

A lender (the link is to a very knowledgeable one) will be able to verify this information.

Published by Laura Palmer Kennedy Real Estate

I am a Real Estate Agent working primarily in Washtenaw and Livingston counties. I work where I live and grew up...I would love to tell you what this area and small town living has to offer you! There is no job greater than this one - I still wake up every day and say "I LOVE what I do!" It is not work when you are passionate about what you do! I am blessed to be an intregral part of helping you achieve your DREAM! How much greater can that be? I can help you whether you are buying a home, a condo; selling a home or condo, needing to do a short sale; trying to buy a foreclosure; whether you need to lease a property to reside in, or whether you have a property you wish to lease out. Are you an investor? It's the perfect time to buy rentals / investment properties. Lake property sale and purchases are one of my specialty areas. And I can even help you locate and acquire commercial properties. I have chosen to be a part of Real Estate One. I love that it is a family owned company that requires high standards from every member of their team. Even better, we are the tenth largest Real Estate Brokerage in the nation - an acheivement obtained by adhereing to their values and providing support and technology ahead of the game.

Leave a comment